The term “theft” in New Jersey means to unlawfully take or exercise control over someone else’s property to deny the other person of that property, whether it is movable or immovable.
Theft crime is usually determined by the value of the items that are stolen, but can also be based on the property stolen. The law can also allow for separate thefts to be added together so that it could lead to a higher total theft. The general breakdown of degree by amount is as follows: second degree is $75,000 or more, third degree is more than $500 but less than $75,000, and fourth degree is more than $200 but less than $500. If the amount is less than $200, the theft is considered a disorderly person’s offense.
There are many other activities and forms of theft that New Jersey recognizes, including the following:
- Theft by deception
- Receiving stolen property
- Theft of services
- Theft by extortion
- Auto Theft
The stigma of being convicted of a theft offense is extremely detrimental, even if a jail sentence is unlikely. If you are charged with any theft crime, it is highly advisable to get a lawyer to defend you. Having an aggressive and seasoned criminal defense lawyer provides the strongest defense against the repercussions of a conviction.
At the Law Office of Jennifer Marshall, Esq., we provide a free initial consultation for you to evaluate your legal options. Call us today, 732-377-2005.