What Happens if You Plead Guilty to a Criminal Offense in New Jersey
First and foremost, you will have to appear in open court and tell the judge what you did that makes you guilty of the particular offense or offenses.
Second, if you plead guilty:
a. You will have a criminal record
b. You may go to Jail or Prison.
c. You will have to pay fines and court costs.
Third, if you are on Probation, you will have to submit to random drug and urine testing. If you violate Probation, you often go to jail.
Four, in indictable matters, you will be required to provide a DNA sample, which could be used by law enforcement for the investigation of criminal activity, and pay for the cost of testing.
Five, you must pay restitution if the court finds there is a victim who has suffered a loss and if the court finds that you are able or will be able in the future to pay restitution.
Six, if you are a public office holder or employee, you can be required to forfeit your office or job by virtue of your plea of guilty.
Seven, if you are not a United States citizen or national, you may be deported by virtue of your plea of guilty.
In addition, you must wait 5-10 years to expunge a first offense. 2C:52-3. You could be put on Probation. In cases involving drugs, a mandatory DEDR penalty of $500-$1,000, and lose your driver’s license for 6 months – 2years. You must pay a Law Enforcement Officers Training and Equipment Fund penalty of $30.
You may also be required to do Community Service. You must pay a minimum Violent Crimes Compensation Board assessment of $50 ($100 minimum if you are convicted of a crime of violence) for each count to which you plead guilty. You must pay a $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund assessment for each conviction. If you are being sentenced to probation, you must pay a fee of up to $25 per month for the term of probation.
On top of all of the fines associated with pleading guilty there may be jail time. The following is the list of possible jail times by offense:
-In the case of a crime of the first degree, for a specific term of years which shall be fixed by the court and shall be between 10 years and 20 years;
-In the case of a crime of the second degree, for a specific term of years which shall be fixed by the court and shall be between five years and 10 years;
-In the case of a crime of the third degree, for a specific term of years which shall be fixed by the court and shall be between three years and five years;
-In the case of a crime of the fourth degree, for a specific term which shall be fixed by the court and shall not exceed 18 months.
A person who has been convicted of an offense may be sentenced to pay a fine, to make restitution, or both, such fine not to exceed:
(1) $200,000.00 when the conviction is of a crime of the first degree;
(2) $150,000.00 when the conviction is of a crime of the second degree;
(3) $15,000.00 when the conviction is of a crime of the third degree;
(4) $10,000.00 when the conviction is of a crime of the fourth degree;
(5) $1,000.00, when the conviction is of a disorderly persons offense;
(6).$500.00, when the conviction is of a petty disorderly persons offense;
With all of the things that you face when pleading guilty to an offense, it makes sense to hire an experience defense attorney who can get the charges dropped or lessen any penalties. The Law Office of Jennifer L. Marshall has the experience and the determination to represent you in courts through out New Jersey. With all you have to lose and to pay, it matters who is on your side. Give us a call today for your initial consultation.