Assault charges have a significant impact on your life. Fighting the accusations on your own can be challenging and risky. You may accidentally say something that damages your side of the case. Fortunately, you can hire a tenacious criminal attorney to help minimize the consequences. A Piscataway assault lawyer has a deep understanding of New Jersey criminal laws and can help you by preparing and presenting a defense that puts your best interests front and center.
Let our team empower you, help you understand the legal process, and create a strategy to push critical evidence forward. Reach out now. We are ready to listen to your story.
What Counts As Assault Under New Jersey Laws?
Under New Jersey law, there are multiple types of assaults, such as simple and aggravated. New Jersey law typically classifies these offenses based on the mindset of the person who allegedly committed the act as well as the level of injury the alleged victim does or might have experienced. In addition, the law also elevates a simple assault to an aggravated assault if the victim is a police officer, firefighter, school administrator, or other type of government worker.
Someone commits a simple assault if they physically injure someone, whether it was accidentally or on purpose. Someone can also commit a simple assault if they unsuccessfully try to harm someone else. Additionally, if someone tries to scare someone into thinking they will be hurt, this can constitute a simple assault.
An aggravated assault is when a person tries to use or uses a deadly weapon (such as a gun or knife) to injure someone. An aggravated assault can also occur if someone tries to cause or actually causes serious bodily injury to someone else or points a gun at them (even if the person holding the gun thinks it does not have bullets in it). In contrast to simple assault, aggravated assault generally involves reckless disregard, risk of death, or the permanent disfigurement of the victim.
Every case is unique. A Piscataway assault attorney understands New Jersey’s complex assault laws and can begin taking steps to defend the accused against the charges they face.
Penalties for an Assault Charge
The penalties for an assault charge in this state may include a prison sentence, fines, and community service or another type of program. New Jersey law classifies simple assault charges as a disorderly persons offense or petty disorderly offense. Aggravated assault charges are often a crime of the second, third, or fourth degree.
Petty disorderly offenses typically do not result in prison sentences or fines. For most disorderly persons offenses, however, the court can sentence the accused to up to 90 days behind bars and fines or other forms of giving back to the community to make up for the crime. Aggravated assault can result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years or more.
If the circumstances warrant it, the New Jersey court can lengthen or shorten the sentence. This decision may be based on the way the person supposedly committed the crime, their mindset, if they are a first-time offender, or if they have a history of criminal activity. People can protect themselves against harsh sentencing laws by hiring an experienced Piscataway assault attorney.
Contact a Piscataway Assault Attorney for Help
Facing assault charges is an uncomfortable and frustrating ordeal, causing you to worry about the impact a conviction may have on your life. Understanding your legal rights and preparing a strong defense safeguards you against these charges. However, it can be challenging to handle a criminal defense case on your own while also dealing with your daily obligations and the added stress of the trial.
A Piscataway assault lawyer shields you from the total weight of the criminal charges, performing extensive research and fiercely advocating for you in court. Our team has valuable experience fighting for people in your position who face assault charges. To find out how we can help, contact our firm today.