Getting divorced is a complex and highly emotional process, even when you and your spouse agree that it is the right thing to do. However, not everyone is on the same page as their spouse when they decide to go their separate ways; if you cannot agree on the terms of your separation, a divorce process that can take weeks under the best of circumstances may end up dragging out for months or even more than a year.
Fortunately, there is help available from a dedicated family attorney who knows exactly how tough this process can often be and is ready to fight for the positive outcome you need to move forward. From the initial filing to your final court order, Jennifer Marshall can be a steadfast ally and source of legal guidance. When you are considering a divorce, do not hesitate to contact our firm to speak with a compassionate attorney.
Legal Requirements for a Divorce in Piscataway
To get divorced in the Garden State, you, your spouse, or both of you must currently live in New Jersey and have lived here for at least one continuous year prior to filing. The only exception is if you are filing for divorce based on the non-filing spouse’s adultery, in which case state law only requires you to be a current New Jersey resident without putting any other time limits in place.
While you can pursue a “fault-based” divorce in New Jersey, many couples file based on “irreconcilable differences” between them—essentially, based on the grounds that their marriage has completely broken down and there is no realistic chance of repairing the relationship. As our Piscataway divorce attorney can further explain, you cannot file for divorce based on irreconcilable differences until those “differences have been affecting your relationship for at least six months.”
Basic Steps in the Divorce Process
The divorce process in Piscataway begins with filling out and filing a Complaint for Divorce and submitting it—along with a $300 fee or formal request for the fee to be waived, a Divorce Summons, and various other forms—to the court. You can do this by mailing two copies of all necessary documents directly to the Family Division of the Superior Court or by going through the online Judiciary Electronic Document Submission (JEDS) system. Either way, assistance from Jennifer Marshall, a seasoned divorce lawyer in Piscataway, can be crucial to making sure all the required forms are completed correctly and that you follow all the rules for submission.
Once the court has processed your initial Complaint, you must “serve” the Divorce Summons you also filled out on your spouse within 30 days, which can be done through a private process server or the Sheriff’s Office. After this, you have a few options for how to finalize your divorce and come to an agreement with your spouse on all relevant marital issues, including medication, arbitration, and—on recommendation from a judge—an Early Settlement Panel.
Consider Working with a Piscataway Divorce Attorney
This is just a short overview of everything that goes into the marriage “dissolution” process in Piscataway. Odds are, you will run into all kinds of unique personal obstacles and procedural problems that, if you are not ready to address them proactively, could lead to your divorce taking much longer than needed and having an unsatisfactory outcome for you.
Working closely with a qualified Piscataway divorce lawyer can dramatically improve your odds of getting the result you want from your divorce. Call our firm today to learn more from Jennifer Marshall.